Daily Archives: November 9, 2008

Titans Still Undefeated At 9-0

It wasn’t easy but the Tennessee Titans improved to 9-0 in the 2008 season with a 21-14 win over the host Chicago Bears.

The Freak, Jevon Kearse, (who has the biggest hands I’ve ever had the chance to shake) showed off his team’s record by placing a piece of tape between the 9 and the 0 on his #90 Titans jersey on the sideline in the game’s waning moments.

The running game of LenDale White and Chris Johnson had a rough day against Da Bears defense, but the Titans’ offensive line gave Kerry Collins time to throw and the Tennessee defense made big plays when it needed to in order to win. Cortland Finnegan is a beast in the secondary.

We’ll see how long these Titans can keep it up. Hopefully for a good long while, but I would trade a loss now for a Super Bowl win later.

Image via ESPN

nablopomo-november-2008

Dark Chocolate Man Axe Ad Wigs Me Out

Here’s the story.

I watch a lot of Adult Swim on the Cartoon Network as I fall asleep at night.

I can’t get enough of the Venture Brothers, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Robot Chicken, Sea Lab 2021, Harvey Birdman, Cowboy Bebop and Squidbillies. Morel Orel is one of those shows that makes me cringe, but I don’t turn away, but Tim and Eric’s Awesome Show I can’t tolerate.

Anyway, during the run of programming during the late hours, AXE body spray is advertised frequently.

Their ad for their Dark Temptation body spray (which must be a chocolate scent from all I can assume and gather) really wigs me out.

The women in the ad biting off chunks of the chocolate dude are just odd and his melting his own arm for a female-enticing fondue or breaking off his own nose are just creepy.

Here’s an Argentinian version of the ad that airs on Adult Swim. It’s the only 60 second version I could find on Youtube.

Let me know if this weirds you out as much as it does me.

Or maybe it’s just me.

nablopomo-november-2008

Blood Simple Is Still Brilliant

What is it about Sunday mornings and great movies?

I wrote about enjoying “Mystery Train” one Sunday morning in March and recalled just how much fun it was and how it was one of the 80s movies that made me fall in love with smart, small films.

This Sunday morning, I’ve spent the past two hours watching “Blood Simple“.

Frances McDormand, in her debut, was impressive.

John Getz as the haunted Ray made you feel the pain of doing something you detested.

Dan Hedaya‘s creep factor as the jealous husband was off the charts

and finally, M. Emmet Walsh was just crazy good.

I saw it in the theater with Newscoma in 1985 and was so impressed with the visual style the Coen Brothers brought to the screen.

Since then, my love of the siblings’ cinematic stuff has grown vastly.

I posted a video montage of the Coens’ work earlier this year, but I watched it again this morning after viewing their movie and again was reminded of the way themes repeat in their works, so I decided to repost it. Enjoy!

nablopomo-november-2008