Blood Simple Is Still Brilliant

What is it about Sunday mornings and great movies?

I wrote about enjoying “Mystery Train” one Sunday morning in March and recalled just how much fun it was and how it was one of the 80s movies that made me fall in love with smart, small films.

This Sunday morning, I’ve spent the past two hours watching “Blood Simple“.

Frances McDormand, in her debut, was impressive.

John Getz as the haunted Ray made you feel the pain of doing something you detested.

Dan Hedaya‘s creep factor as the jealous husband was off the charts

and finally, M. Emmet Walsh was just crazy good.

I saw it in the theater with Newscoma in 1985 and was so impressed with the visual style the Coen Brothers brought to the screen.

Since then, my love of the siblings’ cinematic stuff has grown vastly.

I posted a video montage of the Coens’ work earlier this year, but I watched it again this morning after viewing their movie and again was reminded of the way themes repeat in their works, so I decided to repost it. Enjoy!

nablopomo-november-2008

Leave a Reply

