Daily Archives: November 28, 2008

The Simpsons and Star Trek Themes Collide

It’s Bart Simpson vs Captain Kirk or Lisa Simpson meets Spock.

Using a Theremin, a funnel and a Rhodes piano, a combination of The Simpsons and the Star Trek theme songs has been mashed together.

It’s not quite Gwen Stefani and the Soggy Bottom Boys, but it is different.

And how often do you get to see a Theremin in action.

Ancient Chinese Marijuana Found

Here’s a story for those of you vegging out after munching on Thanksgiving day leftovers.

The Toronto Star has a story about an ancient marijuana stash found near Turpan in northwestern China. The marijuana is believed to be 2,700 years old – the oldest ever found – and is believed to have been buried in the tomb of a shaman for medicinal or psychoactive purposes, not for clothing or food.

Here’s why squirrels shouldn’t Just Say No to dope.

Pieces of Canadian Meteorite Found

I’ve been fascinated by the footage of the meteorite that fell over Canada last week.

I’m not normally into astronomy, but for some reason the shot from the cop’s dashboard camera of the sky lighting up and the streak that followed has really captured my attention.

A planetary scientist and a graduate student have found some fragments of the meteorite.

An American is offering a $10,000 reward for pieces of the meteorite weighing one killogram or more.

I’m guessing they’ll maintain them for research and forego the cash.

Feel Good Friday = Perfect Day

I haven’t posted in a couple of days due to the holiday, but my Thanksgiving Day was just about a Perfect Day.

I watched documentaries about Andy Warhol and the folks at the Factory on the Ovation network, ate leftover dressing, wandered in the sun in my mom’s backyard, ate pecans I picked up off the lawn and cracked open on the spot, eyed a woodpecker stealing pecans from the tree, came home and watched some football, ate some more of my favorite foods, watched a Reno 911! marathon, caught a cool documentary on PBS about two fellows following in Marco Polo’s footsteps and all the political hassles they went through that still didn’t dampen the wonder of their journey, saw a few minutes of Jackie Chan in “Legend of the Drunken Master” and fell asleep next to the person I love and my dogs.

Yep, it was a Perfect Day.

This Lou Reed tune played during the Warhol doc. I used to have this on cassette years ago and always loved it. I thought it applied perfectly to the day and the parameters of FGF.