The Squirrel Has Landed

I was four and a half when man took his first step on the moon 40 years ago today.

I really don’t recall anything about that day. If my mom plunked me down on the linoleum in front of our black-and-white television set to witness the event, I don’t remember it.

Since that day, I’ve seen the video of the first step replayed over and over. I’ve read and heard the phrase “One small step …” repeatedly.

It never gets old.

I do treasure the human spirit, creativity and bravery that it took to put man on the moon in a time when the best technology available was more limited than the computing power I carry in my pocket every day.

May our nation always have a will to dream and achieve equal to and beyond what it took to place three humans (Mission Commander Neil Alden Armstrong, Command Module Pilot Michael Collins, and Lunar Module Pilot Edwin Eugene ‘Buzz’ Aldrin, Jr.) on the moon in 1969.

Maybe July 20 should be a national holiday. If Columbus Day exists, shouldn’t there be a Moon Landing Day?

Here are the links to NASA’s page full of Apollo 11 40th anniversary stuff including partially restored NASA footage of the monumental moon walk moment in HD.

Leave a Reply

