Feel Good Friday – Chicago Style

Now, when I type Chicago, I don’t mean the 1970s-era band filled with a groovy horn section. No “Saturday in the Park” here, mind you.

I’m talking about the movie version of the musical starring Renee Zellweger and Richard Gere. I heard this song during dinner last night and was reminded how fun that movie was to watch. I’ll need to put Chicago on the list to view again soon.

Meanwhile, here’s Queen Latifah offering an introduction to how things work in the Big House to Zellweger’s character Roxie with “When You’re Good to Mama.”

Sure it’s a song about bullying with threatening overtones, but Queen Latifah certainly does it in such rousing, if not arousing, fashion.

Here’s a true story about me. When I was about 5 I had an older and wiser cousin. Whilst chunking dirt clods into a pond next to his house, he, being all of 7 at the time, posed a question to me. “Do you like Chicago?”

My honest response, “Well, I’ve never been there, but it sounds like a nice place.”

DOH! He beat me down verbally for my lack of musical insight by pointing out he was asking about the band not the Windy City.

Let me point out he went on to be a stoner DJ at a local Top 40 radio station for a while as a young adult.

I knew way before he got hired that was the perfect job for him.

Leave a Reply

