Amazing kd lang at the Ryman

I got to see kd lang perform at the Ryman the other night.

Incredible, moving, brilliant.

Believe it or not it was my first ever visit to the Ryman and what a way to experience the historical building – an angelic voice filling the room and someone I love sitting next to me – a perfect night.

I’ve been a fan of kd since her first album (yes I had “Angel With A Lariat” on vinyl) and her late night visits to Letterman’s set.

She performed lots of stuff from her new CD “Watershed”; you can hear a few of those tunes on her MySpace page.

She charmed her audience with a bit of banter and some “dance moves” and her banjo.

The showstopper was her version of Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah”. The emotion conveyed by her powerful voice raised the Ryman roof and lifted her audience to its feet for an extended standing ovation once the rendition was finished. It moved me to tears.

This version isn’t from the Ryman, but it’s still an impressive showing from 2007.

5 responses to “Amazing kd lang at the Ryman

  1. Ahhhh, so jealous. The Ryman is my heart’s venue, and I can’t believe you haven’t been, but I’m so glad you guys went. She’s insanely talented, and I can only imagine the soaring beauty of “Hallelujah.”

    Incidentally, “Constant Craving” is one of my favorite songs EVER.

  2. Constant Craving is one of my favorites and she performed it too. She actually went from Hallelujah into that tune after the extended ovation she received.
    I did a really lame job of expressing how entertaining and moving her show was.
    I’d definitely pay to see her again, no matter the venue.

  3. Sounds absolutely wonderful! 🙂

  4. I love this song. Imogen Heap does a pretty awesome cover of it. I like Leonard Cohen a lot, but Jeff Buckley’s version will always be my favorite.

  5. I WAS ALSO AT THE RYMAN CONCERT LAST FRIDAY EVENING… THE FIRST TIME I EVER HEARD KD LANG…..WHAT A VOICE…WHAT A WONDERFUL SHOW…NOT A DULL MOMENT. THIS LADY HAS HER ACT TOGETHER….IT WAS ‘BOFFO’/’WOWEE’/UNBELIEVABLE”..PULL OUT ALL THE ADJECTIVES…. THIS GAL HAS A GIFT FROM THE ANGELS….TRULY BLESSED WITH A GOD-GIVEN TALENT….IT WAS TRULY AN INSPIRED SHOW… THANK YOU KD LANG……..

Leave a Reply

