Man Saves Dog From Shark – Darwin List Averted

How much do you love your pile of mutts?

Enough to nab your beloved canine from a shark’s clenched teeth?

That’s what one Florida man did when his tiny terrier Jack, who enjoys a daily swim off the Islamorada key, got chomped by a hungry shark.

The pet’s owner dove in off the dock like a “battering ram” and slammed into the back of the shark’s neck, startling the toothy beast and forcing him to let the pooch loose. Jack swam the few yards to shore followed by his owner without further attack from the sea creature.

Jack is one lucky dog who received plenty of stitches, but will be okay after his aquatic adventure.

My slumbering mutts at the top of this post have never seen an ocean, let alone a shark, but they do like leftovers from Long John Silver’s.

The Miami Herald has the whole story and a slide show.

3 responses to “Man Saves Dog From Shark – Darwin List Averted

  1. Aw. Looks a little like my Dixie. I’da done the same. I wouldn’t have survived, of course, but I’da done the same.

  2. I saw this on all the morning shows (see what happens to me when I stay home all day). Amazing. I can honestly say that my doggie would be sharkbait because I can’t swim for one, and I have a severe phobia of sharks. I think the guy said his dog has nightmares now. Shudder.

  3. love a doggie pile…

Leave a Reply

