Bananas

While on my morning scroll, I ran across a site that made me think of homeless bananas.

It’s made up entirely of photos of banana peels left abandoned on the streets of London. The colors on London Bananas are incredibly vibrant in most pics with the peels left against curbs and signposts.

However, I couldn’t help but be reminded that the neglected fruit peels look like homeless people in their usual sidewalk environment.

Then I started thinking about other bananas.

There’s the unusual headwear sported by a dancing Carmen Miranda.

From the movie The Gang’s All Here, Carmen croons “The Lady in the Tutti-Frutti Hat” and Busby Berkley has his cast of chorines flinging around giant “bananas.”

Of course we can’t forget “Yes, We Have No Bananas.” It’s a Louis Prima version a novelty song by Frank Silver and Irving Cohn that was a major hit in 1923.

Of course, there’s the iconic Chiquita Banana. Apparently, this original version was put together by the Disney studios in the 1940s and was shown only in theaters, but made a very lasting impression.

While we’re on the subject of food, how about some peanut butter jelly.

To remove that earworm from taking up permanent residence in your brainpan, I present Stephen Colbert’s fruitful dining whilst speaking about Prince Charles on a classic bit from Comedy Central’s The Daily Show.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
more about “Prince Charles Scandal | The Daily Sh…“, posted with vodpod
6 responses to “Bananas

  1. Pingback: London Street Bananas » Popular Fidelity » Images

  2. I didn’t play any of the videos and you already gave me a whole other earworm.

    “I’m the Chiquita Banana, and I’m here to say…”

    I don’t remember how the rest of it goes (thank god).

  3. Pingback: Fruit Sticker Art « The Squirrel Queen

  4. Gabriela Marques Costa

    “100 anos Carmen Miranda, vamos tambores rufar!”
    Carmen Miranda’s musics are forever and definitely make a stand in a very important part of the World’s history – the second World War
    This great diva will always remain in our hearts; she’ll always be remembered as “a Pequena Notável” with her beautiful and lovely smile.
    Here in Portugal we also have a Carmen Miranda Museum that is very worthwhile to visit: it has some interesting items!
    As a Painter and Plastic Artist I could not standby upon her 100th birthday celebration, even more, because she was born in a town near mine. So I decided to pay her a tribute by doing an exhibition.
    You can check my blog for more information regarding my tribute to Carmen Miranda. I hope you enjoy it!
    http://gabrielamarquescosta.wordpress.com
    Gabriela Marques da Costa

Leave a Reply

