Josh Beckett Has a Man Crush on C. Everett Koop

I was watching the Yankees and Red Sox battle each other and the rain drops on Saturday.

Once when the camera zoomed in on Boston starting pitcher Josh Beckett I was struck by his choice in neckwear.

The right-hander had on the Phiten Titanium-style necklace that is now customary among Major Leaguers, but I also spotted something a little different dangling at his collar. The chunky bauble reminded me of something.

I pondered and mulled and finally recalled what the white plastic pendant resembled – the Life Alert alarm that C. Everett Koop claims to wear in the TV commercials.

You know the device I’m talking about. You remember the ad with the elderly woman lying in the floor crying out the famous line, “Help! I’ve fallen and I can’t get up!” That’s the Life Alert pendant.

Upon further consideration, it dawned on me that this wasn’t the only thing the two men – Beckett and Koop – had in common.

Check out the pictures below and then think about these things:

1. Note the facial follicles on both chins.

2. Note that both have worn uniforms as part of their careers.

3. Note that both have applied plenty of hair product as part of their grooming regimine.

Is it just me or is the former World Series MVP emulating the elder former U.S. Surgeon General?!?!?

3 responses to “Josh Beckett Has a Man Crush on C. Everett Koop

  1. Very clever write up on Beckett and Koop. I happen to be a Beckett fan and am wondering where you got the sexy Beckett pic, the one with his arms up behind his head. I have the issue of the Improper Bostonian that has a pic of Beckett in the same outfit, obviously taken at the photo shoot, but this pose is not in the issue. Could you tell me where you got the pic? I would love to get it. By the way, his necklace is a Q-link, a magnetic piece believed to help with pain, balance and stress. http://www.q-linkproducts.com.

  2. Meg,
    I just did a Google image search for “Josh Beckett necklace” and I think where I found the one I used as part of my jewelry mash-up was this blog http://sheepy712.wordpress.com/2008/04/23/do-these-pants-make-my-butt-look-big/. Where they got it from, I couldn’t tell you.
    Glad you enjoyed the Koop scoop, just a crazy notion that struck me.
    Come back and visit and comment any time.
    SQ

  3. What an astute comparison.

Leave a Reply

