Rattlesnake Vodka is Meaner than Bacon Vodka

I understand there’s a buzz in the liquor world over Bacon Vodka, but a man in Texas has come up with something with more bite – Rattlesnake Vodka.

Agents for the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission seized 410 bottles of the hissing vodka that each included a 10-inch long rattlesnake from Bayou Bob’s Brazos River Rattlesnake Ranch in Palo Pinto County.

Supposedly, there’s an aphrodisiac quality to the reptile-infused illegal hooch.

Sure, eating the worm in tequila is supposed to provide visions. Imagine the kick this venomous vodka could provide. That’s just what the authorities thought.

According to the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Internet searches show Bayou Bob’s isn’t the only location selling exotic libations which are popular in Asia. Thai scorpion vodka, cobra whiskey, giant centipede whiskey, herbal gecko lizard wine and Mekong River eel wine are ll available online.

12 responses to “Rattlesnake Vodka is Meaner than Bacon Vodka

  1. Pingback: Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » I wonder what Claudia could do with this?

  2. I am not totally skeeved out. Do you think the bones would be crunchy or rubbery like when you soak a chicken bone in vinegar?

    Sorry, I just had to share that horrid mental image with the peanut gallery.

  3. Properly prepared snake is mighty fine eatin’, folks….

    Though, I’m not real sure what it would bring to vodka!

  4. Hee hee terrible typo on my part. That should have said *NOW* totally skeeved out.

  5. Heather, skeeve on. Wait, can you use Skeeve as a verb? Now, I’m wondering.
    I’ve never eaten rattlesnake. I’ve heard mixed results from others who’ve tried it. Maybe someday, I’ll get a chance.
    As for the vodka, I guess if I had enough/too much other liquor before this was offered to me, I’d try it.

  6. Pingback: Happy St. Patrick’s Day « The Squirrel Queen

  7. Snake, whether rattled or not, has a huge amount of bones to deal with, as you might guess, but it pretty much tastes like chicken.

    As for the vodka, I’ll pass. That snake doesn’t appear to have been cleaned.

  8. @Jim – See I wondered about the cleanliness factor here too. I’m guessing if they’re making illegal hooch, they’re not all into sterilizing their equipment, nor their ingredients. However, looking at it from the other side, the alcohol in the vodka might do that job and kill all the parasites and microbes.

  9. Aw, this was an exceptionally good post. Taking the time and actual effort to make a top
    notch article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot
    and never manage to get nearly anything done.

  10. I am no longer positive where you’re getting your info,
    however great topic. I must spend some time studying much more or
    figuring out more. Thanks for wonderful information I used
    to be searching for this information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

