Uh Oh, SpaghettiOs Creator Passes Away

An Internet obituary alerted me to the passing of an American food icon – Kurt Eberling, Sr, the creator of Spaghetti-Os – passed away on Monday, March 10, 2008.

As a kid, one of the treats my sister and I got occasionally as part of our daily repasts came straight out of a can. As an adult, every once in a long while I’ll stroll down that familiar gastronomical nostalgic path, opening a can of the kiddie pasta about every three years or so.

Franco-American Spaghetti-Os were not a regular purchase by mom as she strolled through the aisles of our local grocery during the 1970s. Occasionally, though, a can did end up in her shopping cart.

The resulting display of circular, soft noodles floating in an orange/red tomato sauce always added an air of excitement to the usual meat-and-three dining experience at our humble abode.

Okay. I’ll be honest. It brought a buzz from my sister and me.

Now that I think back, my Mom and Dad never did put a heaping helping of this delicacy on their plates. My sis and I preferred our Os plain, without the addition of odd meatballs or weird bits of franks in the sauce.

Eberling came up with new recipes for the Campbell Soup company in their research and development department. Spaghetti-Os hit the market in October of 1965.

Don’t let his affiliation with the canned food fool you. The man who was once called the “worldwide soup guru” was a former president of the Chefs Association of Philadelphia.

Let’s all break out a can opener and grab a spoon as we slurp up those noodles and sing a somber version of “Uh Oh Spaghetti-Os” today.

2 responses to “Uh Oh, SpaghettiOs Creator Passes Away

  1. Blech. Sad for the creator but, yet, blech.
    I do like pickled corn though.

  2. I LOVE Spaghetti-Os!!! It was almost all I ate when I was a kid, and I could still live on ’em. hahahaa…

    May its creator rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

