****** Barry Bonds Asterisk King ******

Big Head Barry Bonds Clear Cream

I will hate to see it happen, but I know it is inevitable. Barry Bonds will pass Hammerin’ Hank for the home run record. It’s just a matter of time.

I’ve been debating whether to type all this up. I’ve been procrastinating as the man with the giant head and even bigger ego struggles to knock one over the fence for No. 755. Irrationally, I’ve been connecting my delaying with his recent power outage. Thinking that maybe the longer I waited to post my opinion the further I could jinx the formerly pencil-thin outfielder as he teeters on the precipice of breaking the record.

I don’t have to like it. I don’t have to cheer for him. I don’t have to honor him for this.

I don’t believe he was unaware the “flaxseed oil” was juiced full of illegal chemicals. I don’t believe he was in the dark that the “clear cream” was loaded full of something you couldn’t pick up in your local GNC store at the mall but you could get at BALCO.

I don’t believe the human head should grow after the age of 40 to the size of a Macy’s Thanksgiving day balloon.

I do believe there should be an asterisk next to his name. I do believe Bud Selig should be there when Bonds finally swats a shot over the fence. Selig helped this steroid issue stagnate and then boil over into the mess we have to day.

I do believe he had Hall of Fame credentials before he joined the Roid Brigade, but I didn’t like him even then. I was rooting for Atlanta’s Sid Bream as he lumbered toward home in Game 7 of the 1992 NLCS, rooting against Bonds’ arm as he made the throw to try to nail him at home plate. Safe!

I do believe we should all root for A-Rod to hurry up and clobber about 300 home runs out of Yankee Stadium, unless Jose Canseco’s next book gives us evidence otherwise.

And I hate to root for a Yankee, no matter the reason.

All Hail Hammerin’ Hank! My mom and I were watching the night he surpassed the Babe’s mark in April of 1974. I’ve seen the replay, especially recently, so many times of Aaron trotting around the bases with the two fans from the stands running alongside him that I’d begun to doubt whether I saw it live or not. I mentioned it to my mom earlier this week and she confirmed that we did in fact watch it as it happened. 

I’m glad my memory didn’t fail me and I was a witness to the real home run king.

12 responses to “****** Barry Bonds Asterisk King ******

  1. That’s a great photoshop job you did to make Barry’s head small enough to fit in the frame with the rest of his body.

  2. Pingback: Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » Does Bonds Needs An Asterisk?

  3. Ya Know Ron, no matter how I distorted his head in photoshop, it still looked too similar to the actual disproportionate hot air balloon he has attached to his neck.

  4. SQ is the Photoshop Queen! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » Bonds hits 755

  6. Thanks for not being afraid to tell it like it is…
    Gopd bless Hank Aaron for keeping his values and not caving in to put on a good face.. He’s got a good one already… In today’s society the bad guys like Bonds are looked up to… more than theys hould be..
    thetimetraveler.com/doesbarrybelong/

  7. Pingback: Scout About

  8. Amen sistha, I’m giving you a witness on that one…

    I was watchin the espn the other day and it showed the list of home run hittin record holders, the top ten people and he was the only one in there that I would say, never really did it on his own merits. In my mind, I’ll be scratching his name outta there and adding that 11th one to the top 10 for actually doing the work w/out the juice.

  9. Follow these guidelines and you will build that new home with little, or no, problems. replacement aluminum window can help…

  10. I LOVE BARRY BONDS HE IS A GREAT BALL PLAYER AND I THINK YOU ARE ALL WRONG!!!!

  11. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  12. b@Rry is KiNg of b@seB@Ll

Leave a Reply

