Under the stars

squirrel director

IFC is bringing its Free Film Fest to Memphis this week, one of only 10 stops this summer. They started the event with a showing of one of my favorite movies – Raising Arizona. If I’d been able to be in about three places at once last night, I would have sitting out watching the adventures of H.I. and Nathan Arizona myself. It didn’t work out that way.

Tonight’s showing is Princess Bride and tomorrow night will feature Napolean Dynamite. IFC will also have its Media Lab set up to show short independent films. And they’re giving away an HD camera to some lucky soul.

It’s all at the Pink Palace with gates opening at 6 p.m. for folks to picnic on the grounds with the movies beginning at sunset. It’s not quite a drive-in, but it should be fun all the same.

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite movie lines of all time. From Raising Arizona H.I. said:

“Ed’s womb was a rocky place where my seed could find no purchase.”

One response to “Under the stars

  1. We can’t go, can we?
    Damned football season.
    But then again, I love me some football.

Leave a Reply

