Simpsons Squirrel

Finally, I’m getting around to writing about seeing The Simpsons Movie this weekend.

It definitely lived up to the high expectations set by its television predecessor. The fact that it was basead on a TV show was brilliantly parodied in the opening bit.

I loved the details they were able to plug into the more panoramic format. The mob scenes were a marvel as I kept trying to keep up with all the myriad familiar characters that streamed past the camera’s point of view. I also enjoyed the jabs at government that are so typical of the minds behind Bart and Homer. I loved that they were true to their characters’ original ideals. I do wish they’d spent a bit more time in Springfield so we could get more visits to Moe’s Tavern and encounters with Montgomery Burns and Milhouse and Patty and Selma.

I did dig that Green Day was the celebrity rock and roll cameo. And even more so the creative use of Tom Hanks. Albert Brooks is always up to the task of doing great voice over work, matching the top talents of the original cast.

I did find Lisa’s new friend was a bit of a “flat note”, if you will.

My favorite line came from Homer:

“It’s not the worst day of your life. It’s the worst day of your life so far.”

Ahhhh, the wisdom of Homer. You can’t beat it with a stick.

Of course, I have to point out the fact that one of my legion had a major role in carrying the plot forward. I didn’t know that when I created my Simpson squirrel in photoshop the other day. If I’d known ahead of time, it would have had many, many more eyes.

And if you bump into me any time in the next few weeks, you’ll likely still hear me humming the “Spider Pig” theme song. Even though it was used in the promotional commercials, it was still hysterical to hear Homer singing whilst hoisting his new porker pal to the ceiling. The tune’s been stuck replaying in my head since I peeled my shoes off the sticky theater floor and traipsed outside into the sunlight and I don’t mind that ditty whirling around in my brainpan one bit.

So let’s all hoist a Duff and toast a successful transition to the big screen. All Hail The Simpsons Movie.

One response to “Simpsons Squirrel

  1. Doh! Margo and I can have entire conversations made up entirely of Simpsons allusions. I can’t wait to see the movie this weekend!

Leave a Reply

