Live Aid to Live Earth

So I’ve been sitting on my rump all day watching Live Earth, and enjoying it for the most part, but I can’t help but reflect back to watching Live Aid nearly 22 years ago.

As I recall that day, I was nursing the second gigantic hangover of my adult life. I wallowed around in bed all day watching everybody from Sting to Adam Ant to Madonna to the Pretenders to the Thompson Twins to Queen to Phil Collins on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean. I mostly watched with one eye and one ear buried in a pillow with the volume turned waaaayyy down low.

Now let’s look at the cast of today’s Live Earth. It’s not all that different from the original big show.

Phil Collins – check (though this time he is back with the Genesis gang)

Sting – check (though this time he’s hanging out with those other Police dudes)

Madonna – check (though she has a lot more muscles now)

Today, I’ve really enjoyed K.T. Tunstall, Alicia Keys, Kanye West. I like alot of the Fall Out Boys’ stuff, but I didn’t enjoy hearing it performed live. It’s always a pleasure to watch Shakira dance. I’m bummed I missed Spinal Tap and the tiny Stonehenge. The Beasty Boys can still tear it up. John Mayer bored me, but I usually like him in small doses on the radio. It was pretty cool to see Melissa Etheridge make her points. I really, really loved the percussion when the Soweto Gospel Choir performed. (I dig the drums). I’m also sorry I missed Crowded House. Smashing Pumpkins isn’t usually my thing, but I’m enjoying them. Ludacris makes me smile.

I can’t wait until the Police take the stage. Yippeeeeee!

I’m checking out for a while. I’ve got to go unplug my cell phone charger and peek into my recycle bin.

It ain’t easy being Green.

16 responses to “Live Aid to Live Earth

  1. Pingback: Nashville is Talking » Green In More Ways Than One

  2. “I’m bummed I missed Spinal Tap and the tiny Stonehenge.”

    Definitely with you there. I so wanted to see the drummer spontaneously combust “live”.

  3. i was thinking that live aid did have the police. wasn’t that when they did a big passing of the stage over to u2?

  4. Gavin, I know I was hung over that day and it was 22 years ago, but I’m pretty sure Sting was solo. The link in my post to Live Aid has a list of artists who performed and it names Sting, not The Police. And His Dream of the Blue Turtles CD came out in 1985.

  5. I remember watching Live Aid via one of those big-ass satellite dishes in our yard. I remember The Hooters opened the show in Philadelphia.

  6. Oh Frank. We had one of those giant bowls in our yard too. Living in Podunk in the middle of nowhere, it gave me access to a big world I’d never had access to before. My eyes were wide open and absorbing everything from the moment we got it. It truly was like traveling through the looking glass.

  7. i had to do a little research of my own. not live aid, but amnesty international concert

    i was right in at least understanding that the police hadn’t official broken up at the time of live aid

    &:~)

  8. We’re dubbing Crowded House’s Live Earth performance onto DVD even as I type this. Want a copy? BTW, the husband has tickets to see them this Sept. 11 at the Ryman. Woot!

  9. Oh. It was one song. Just one. Good grief.

  10. One thing I loved about Live Earth is that I felt like I was 21 years old again because I love events like this.
    Heck, I watch the princes thing last week as well.

    Although I realized I was older when I realized that Kanye was the special guest singer with the police.

  11. I missed yesterday’s show. I was too busy changing my oil and dumping it into Radnor Lake. 8^)

  12. Oh Smiley, I bet your tires are under inflated too! LOL

  13. Kathy,
    Are you not going with hubby to see Crowded House at the Ryman too?

  14. Hey… yes! We’re going to the Ryman! Are you?? And we did catch more than one Crowded House song – they did several, then closed the show.

  15. Let’s have a blogger meetup at the Ryman Sept. 11, then. I already have my ticket!!

  16. lcreekmo
    That might be doable for SQ and I.
    ***hijacking, ’cause we live in the same house***

Leave a Reply

