Sour power

I don’t understand the allure of sour candy. I know it’s all the rage with anyone under the age of 25, but I just don’t get it.

The closest I’ve ever come to indulging my “sour” tooth was a summer binge on lemon drops when I was 8. That’s it. Not a life-long addiction to citric acid. And in all honesty, that probably lasted about 3 weeks instead of all summer. Time gets distorted in our memory banks.

These days  nearly every new candy introduced is of the painfully sour variety. Sour Patch Kids, etc. Whatever happened to candy being sweet? In this day and age, youtube is filled with page after page of video of kids challenging each other to eat torturous wads of the oral bombs.

There are even several videos of the kids (mostly teenagers) snorting the sour powder residue that’s left in the bag when the candy pieces have all been eaten.

What may be even weirder is the ad campaign for Sour Skittles. There’s one commercial they play during Adult Swim late at night on the Cartoon Network that just gives me the wiggums. In the one called “Stable”, a cranky old guy is getting milked as he eats the tongue-tormenting tidbits. Yes, I typed “milked”. The candy is ruining the milk he produces, causing it to be sour, yet he won’t relent from partaking of them.

I will admit I like the commercial for regular Skittles called “Trade” that includes the singing bunny. Brilliant. The bunny song always makes my dog Mabel’s ears perk up. And if you’ve seen her ears, that’s a feat in itself.

7 responses to “Sour power

  1. That squirrel picture is killing me!!! But, I must admit that I really love sour candy. In fact, I sneak Sour Patch Kids in to movies (Ugh. Busted! I hope no one from the Martin theater is reading this).

  2. That is by far the funniest picture I’ve seen you do in a long time.

  3. Eh eh, you just don’t get it. I have loved sour candy since I was a babe. Even tho I am a fan of most hard candy (as long as it’s not lemon or lime), the sour stuff has ALWAYS been my fave. From Sweet Tarts to Jolly Ranchers (those are both technically sour, y’know) to Charms Sweet & Sour Pops, those are what I cut my sour hard candy teeth on.

    The Sour Skittles are almost (but not quite) too much for me tho. The Edge bet me one time to eat the remaining VERY sour soury-sugar topping left in the bottom of a bag once after eating the whole bag and it just about killed me.

    And yup, you about outdid yourself on the pic this time, hee.

  4. Completely unrelated – I bet you’ve seen this already, but just in case – http://www.sugarbushsquirrel.com/

    Oh, and I love the sour.

  5. Rachel,
    I have seen Sugar Bush Squirrel, but he’s just a bit too militant for my liking. And I really don’t have the patience to knit tiny squirrel sweaters and create actual squirrel flipflops. I prefer the virtual variety.

  6. Hi Squirrel Queen,

    They’re yellow sandals…not flip flops. Also you can breathe easy cause this militant squirrel’s got your back against terrorism. But for now I’m just relaxing and having loads of fun in the South Pacific for the summer. See you this fall.

    Best,
    Sugar Bush Squirrel

Leave a Reply

