ITISY

The most interesting thing I spied yesterday was traveling north on I-40 just on the outskirts of Memphis. Yes, it was traveling.

Newscoma and I were motoring along home Friday from our TPA conference and great fun blogger visits at the Drinking Liberally gathering when suddenly I spotted something vibrantly yellow and red roaring down an onramp to merge into the traffic just ahead of us.

A childhood memory was immediately evoked. I barked at Newscoma to whip out her handy digicam so I could fire off a few snaps.

I began to hum a few bars and sing a tune in my head. “Oh I wish I was an Oscar Meyer weiner. That is what I’d truly like to be. For if I was an Oscar Meyer weiner, everyone would be in love with me.”

We pulled up alongside an actual Weinermobile.

My pics didn’t do justice to the event. When we pulled up alongside the enourmous rolling hot dog, so much of this gigantic bun and frank combo loomed outside the camera’s frame.

Instead I present you this interpretation of the Interstate ecnounter.

5 responses to “ITISY

  1. I am a huge fan of the Weinermobile and other food-shaped automobiles. There aren’t enough of them, really.

  2. Shauna,
    You’re exactly right.
    There should be lots more vehicles shaped like food or other inanimate objects.
    As a baseball fan, I still miss the golfcarts formed into giant caps they would use to drive the relief pitchers from the bullpen to the mound.

  3. If I could really see a squirrel atop a giant wiener-mobile, I think I’d be happy for the rest of my life, esp if he’s wearing a hat.

    I miss the weiner-mobiles, and I really don’t know why..

  4. Oh my gosh!!! I thought you were going to say you spied one of those elusive armadillos that supposedly now roam about in our area of the country, but a real actual live weinermobile??? Wow! I’ve always wanted to see one of those! I’m so jealous of you. I shall now travel about the country in search of one of these things (and I’m also still gonna keep an eye out for armadillos too).

  5. It was, indeed, awesome even with a blinding hangover.
    The hangover just floated away into joy.

Leave a Reply

