Daily Archives: November 18, 2008

Mark Cuban = Styx Renegade

So mega Maverick Mark Cuban has gotten in trouble with the SEC for insider trading ala Martha Stewart.

Cuban, the owner of the Dallas Mavericks NBA franchise and a multi-Billionaire (yeah that’s a B), got a tip about a stock and he sold them immediately, saving himself about $750,000. The stock that got him in hot water was for an Internet site called mamma.com.

I immediately got a song stuck in my head as a result of hearing that tidbit and it’s not a ditty I’m enjoying. It’s Styx and their tune Renegade. You know the one I’m talking about. It starts out:

“Oh mamma I’m in fear for my life from the long arm of the law. Lawman has put an end to my running and I’m so far from my home
Oh mamma I can hear you a-crying you’re so scared and all alone
Hangman is coming down from the gallows and I don’t have very
long

The jig is up the news is out they’ve finally found me
The renegade who had it made retrieved for a bounty
Never more to go astray
This will be the end today of the wanted man”

Appropriate don’t you think.

Oh, and sorry. I just couldn’t stand to put the video on my blog. I really abhor Styx, but if you’re dying to hear the song now, click here.

(Photo by AP/Matt Slocum)

Lapping It Up In Slow Motion

As a kid the image of that bullet blasting through the apple by Harold Edgerton just fascinated me for some reason.

I guess it’s because it just proved the old magician’s saying, “The hand is quicker than the eye.”

So much happens around us that our human eyes aren’t capable of seeing – the flap of a hummingbird’s wings or the rubber of a balloon coming unwrapped from around a mass of water.

Just admit, we’re all suckers for slow motion photography and the Discovery Channel is trying to capitalize on this fact with their new show Time Warp.

As the owner of a dog which freely uses her tongue for kisses and lapping up water, I found this video from the show pretty informative.

It turns out a dog forms a bowl or spoon with its tongue by curling it down and under toward the chin and lifting the water into the mouth. If the tongue curled upward it would splash the water into the nose.

For more super high speed videos, visit Vision Research. They’ve got tons of super slow motion stuff.

PopFi has links to super slowmo still photography.

nablopomo-november-2008