Wrapping It Up

Even two days later, it is still hard to fathom that this long election cycle has finally come to a close with an amazing outcome – the complete overturn of the status quo by the citizens of this country.

I didn’t post about it yesterday because I think I needed to absorb it all, soaking up the history and the emotion like a sponge.

I am proud of the fact that the voters of the United States overwhelmingly made it clear that they don’t approve of the path this country has taken in the past seven years. We need a more dynamic leader willing to listen to the citizens he represents. Hopefully, President-Elect Obama will be able to begin the process of reversing the nation’s downward spiral.

I think it is way too ambitious a dream to believe that he can just flip a switch, sprinkle some magic fairy dust and make everything better in the blink of an eye.

The work he can do is to place stepping stones for us to stand on and elevate us above the muck as we traverse a difficult path.

CNN has compiled a pretty neat video of the entire campaign process from announcements and pronouncements to debates, from missteps to brilliance by all the candidates that we as a nation watched closely at times and ridiculed at others. Either perspective can’t change the fact that it was historical.

I also found this video below that reminds me of what those who lived and worked before me allowed me to do on Tuesday – to vote.

I figured we’d all enjoy this one way more than another rendition of Lee Greenwood’s “I’m Proud to be an American.”

nablopomo-november-2008

3 responses to “Wrapping It Up

  1. Wow. Squirrelly Bliss and the most glorious election of my life?

    Beautiful.

    Check out what Obama will do for the Arts:

    http://fullbodytransplant.wordpress.com/2008/11/02/obama-for-the-arts/

    We did it.

    Yes we did.

  2. Yes, very well said. I am still reelling for what this means for our country and me and my family on a personal level. I too chose “hope over fear.”

  3. FBT – Yes, we did.
    SB – That line “hope over fear” just resonate so much with me. Let’s “hope” we are now starting the recovery process.

Leave a Reply

